My “Amazing” Prime Rib Roast

Rib RoastSo after 2 weeks of owning the Big Green Egg I decided that I really wanted to try to make prime rib, or a rib roast.  Coincidentally (I swear), one of my favorite BBQ sites, AmazingRibs.com, actually updated his recipe for a rib roast so I decided to follow it but modified it slightly for my tastes and  the Egg.

My Cook:

I went to my favorite butcher in Hoboken, Truglio’s (located on Park and 11th) and purchased a 3 bone rib roast.  I followed Craig’s advice and removed the ribs (the butcher “loosened” them for me) as instructed (stay tuned for when I cook those) and and used his incredible Mrs. O’Leary’s Cow Crust and let sit in the fridge for 24 hours.  One note, even thought it calls for 1/2 tsp of Cayenne Pepper, this does add some heat (not a lot, but the jus definitely had a kick) so if you are not into spice I would leave it out.

After applying the rub and aging for 24 hours, here is what the roast looked like.

I set my Large BGE to 300 degrees (though the recipe said 325 degrees).  I used the indirect setup (upside down plate setter) with a aluminum drip pan filled with hot water to make the jus.  I decided to pass on Craig’s recipe for the gravy as I figured the meat would be plenty juicy with out it.  I decided to use a lower temp since the Egg can cook faster and plus I wanted to practice temp control.  I did pretty well, about 1 hr and 15 min my egg shot up to 350 but I got it under control quickly.  I think my grates my have been slightly clogged, as it was holding 300 for over an hour.  I am researching why that happened.  It only hit 350 for about 15-20 min and the grate temp was only at 315 so it did not have much effect, if any.  After the internal temp hit 115 i removed the roast and set the egg for direct cooking.  I then did a reverse sear as Craig recommended, and had another small mishap.  I opened the bottom draft door all the way, and the egg shot up to 700+  degrees in like 2 minutes.  Lesson learned.  Don’t let it go past 500 or so next time.  It was actually fairly charred even without searing and may not be necessary on the BGE.  Anyway, the char on it looked amazing and I couldn’t wait to cut in.

I let it rest for 30 minutes and the moment of truth!

Rib Roast

Wow!  That looked incredible.  Cooked to perfection, a perfect medium rare!

This came out perfect!  A perfect holiday meal.  Everyone enjoyed it and even though the crust was a bit spicy, they said it had almost a pastrami like taste.  Thanks to Craig at AmazingRibs.com and the Egghead Forum for all the great recipes and tips.

Lessons Learned:

  • Watch temperature more closely, big spike about 1:15 minutes into cook.
  • Use Cayenne sparingly (don’t get me wrong, I like heat on ribs and wings, but a family roast was a bit and it made my jus very spicy).
  • Don’t open draft door all the way to sear.
  • Searing is not really that necessary on the Egg, but I liked the  char.

Happy Holidays!

2 responses to this post.

  1. FANTASTIC looking! Yes, a bit of char, but practice makes perfect. The beauty of the reverse sear is that you get bumper to bumper color without banding.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Jay T Horn on December 26, 2010 at 7:35 pm

    I also used Craig’s recipe, but with a Weber kettle. My first tasting of the jus made me think, “Oh my God, what have I done!?” It was very spicy! I decided to remove as much of the grease as I could from the jus before serving it, and in the process, the “over-the-top” spiciness was removed as well. I am thinking the heat in any pepper comes from the oils they contain, and in removing the grease from the jus, allot of the spice oil was removed too. The end result being I had a very flavorful jus with very little heat in it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

